Back to school

Today was the first day back to school after a two week break. 

I left the house in good time.  As I was driving, I heard on the traffic report that there was a problem on the M25 at the Kent stretch.  As soon as I heard that I knew that the day wasn’t going to start well. I called up work to let them know and I ended up sat on the M25 for an hour.  The later I come off the M25, the worse traffic becomes in London. I became very anxious – I didn’t want to be late but I knew there was nothing I could do about it. And even though I knew there was nothing I could do, my anxiety increased. 

I got into London and came across a number of Lollipop Ladies and drivers who drove at 20mph and stopped everywhere…even if there wasn’t a crossing and a school run mum wanted to be rebellious with her child. 

As I got closer to school, I muttered something to myself and then discovered that I had lost my voice. I do tend to lose my voice when I’m stressed and feel that everything is out of my control. But this was a joke!  The traffic actually made me lose my voice.  I have had quite a few other things on my mind recently but the traffic situation was the trigger. 

It was just another day at school. However, what always surprises me is the knowledge them boys have of hair. A few of them noticed that I had done my hair again and one Year 7 said, “It’s kinky twists.” Haha!  He says his mum is always talking about hairstyles. His mum is one of the few mums that had hair discussions with me at parents’ evening. 

But like I said, just another day at school. 

On the way home I stopped off at Bluewater to get a few makeup bits. I spoke to the shop assistant in Boots and my voice has reappeared.  My voice is not serious. I picked up a few red and pink lipsticks…

Leave a Reply

