Time to leap?

There have been a number of times when I’ve told myself that I’d like to take a break from teaching. I’ve refrained from doing so because I’ve felt that there was nothing else to do. 

At the moment, I’m spending hours travelling to and from work. Although I love my job; the kids are brilliant and I love being inside the classroom – I’m staring to feel less motivated. I do believe that my long journey deflates me and drains my energy.  Therefore, I feel that now is the time to take the break I’ve often contemplated.  


I’ve been teaching for 10 years and I do it naturally.  I’m worried about stepping into a new job and not being able to do it well.  I’m worried about what job I’d do!  I have no idea what I’d like to do in the teaching break.  This is what has stopped me from making that leap in the past. What other job could I do? I have been so conditioned in teaching, are my skills transferable? What jobs will match my salary that only require the level of skill that I possess?  And this is where I have stopped.  I’ve asked myself these questions and stayed put. 


I’m going to give it my best shot.  I’m going to apply for jobs that I think I believe are way above my skill set.  It’s not even that I don’t believe I have the skills because I truly believe that if you are a teacher, you have a range of skills.  I think it’s the conditioning. The safe place. The fear of change. 

Maybe this is a mid-life crisis and I’ll stay exactly where I am. (Or am I still too young for a mid-crisis?)

If I leave my job this year, that’ll mean I won’t be able to apply for a bike through the Cycle to Work Scheme.  This makes me sad.  This might make the largest contribution in my final decision…

Leave a Reply

