Why am I limiting myself?

I had an epiphany this weekend.

I’m currently in the process of applying for jobs. I was bypassing the Leader roles and opting for Teacher posts.  I told myself that I didn’t want the responsibility because it’d take me out of the classroom.  However, after thinking about it for some days, I realised that I was a walking contradiction.

I like working in Inner London schools because I want to be able to offer something to children like myself.  I want to be a positive role model and I relate a lot better.  I tend to make a fuss about our Inner London schools not having enough leaders of ethnic minority.  It’s a real bug bear of mine.  I have no issue getting along with every student I come into contact with. I’m brilliant inside and outside the classroom. My relationship with the children is second to none. The children respect and look up to me. So why am I limiting myself to teacher roles?  Why don’t I show these children that people like them (and myself) can be leaders?

I have been teaching for 10 years and have only gone as far as Head of Media Studies. Head of Media Studies was my goal while doing my PGCE but 10 years have passed. My goal should change.

So yesterday, I decided to bypass the Teacher roles and go for Leader roles. I need to be about the change I’m always complaining about.  I need to utilise my skills holistically.

Leave a Reply

